Fitness goals for a non-runner

So I decided that I want to put my fitness goals in writing so as to have something to work toward.  Let me start by saying that these goals are primarily running-related goals, and I’m not a runner.  It’s true; I don’t like to run, and I’m really slow.  That being said, I understand the many health benefits of running (and other types of exercise), and so I try to be regular about doing it.

Not a runner

Not a runner

Fitness goals are good for two reasons.  They help keep you on track, and if you share them with others, you are more likely to achieve them.  And, after the tragedy in Boston recently, I have decided that life is too short to not have goals and try to attain them.

So, what are my goals?  Here are some big ones:

  • Boston Marathon.  After some thought, the first item on my list of fitness goals is to try to qualify for and run the Boston Marathon.  Now, I realize that could be a complicated goal, after what happened at the race this year.  It’s also a pretty lofty goal for a non-runner, and there is the possibility that I might not qualify (I’m not kidding when I say that I’m slow).  But I will complete a marathon, all 26.2 miles, and I will try to qualify for Boston.
  • Pikes Peak Ascent Marathon.  Another goal I’ve been contemplating since last July is to run the Pike’s Peak Ascent Marathon.  That’s another endurance race that you have to qualify for, and it’s an even more long-term goal than a marathon for me.  I’m still not sure why I would want to put myself through that…  It is a thirteen mile race straight up a mountain (altitude sickness and all), and then the descent back down the mountain to total the 26 miles.  It’s crazy for me to even consider it.  But, my dad completed the Pike’s Peak Ascent Marathon at the age of 61!  He was an incredible fitness freak.  When most people are thinking about how they will spend their retirement years, he’s driving an hour to downtown Houston several times per week to run stairwells in high-rise buildings for hours at a time.  He did the training, and completed the race.  How awesome is that?
  • My third big fitness goal, but not quite as big as the first two, is to race an Olympic distance triathlon.  I’ve done plenty of Sprint distance triathlons (1/2 mile swim, 12 miles biking, 5k run), but because I hate to run I’ve never challenged myself to go for a longer distance.  To me, anything more than a 5k at the end of a triathlon sounds miserable.  And, the Olympic distance is double the length of the Sprint:  1 mile swim, 24 miles biking, and a 10k run.  In mulling it over in my mind, that’s double the training, and double the torture.  But, it’s a good goal, and I think if I’m training to do a marathon, I should be getting enough running miles in my weekly workouts to make it more feasible for me to complete a longer tri.

So, these are a few of my goals for the foreseeable future.  And, how well I reach these goals really depends on how the running goes.

Like I said…  I am not a runner.

One thought on “Fitness goals for a non-runner

Leave a Reply

